The International Animated Film Society (ASIFA- Hollywood) announced the nominees for the 41st annual Annie Awards, recognizing some of the biggest and brightest stars of the animation industry in 2013. The Annie Award winners will be announced on February 1, 2014 at  UCLA’s Royce Hall in Los Angeles, Calif.

ASIFA-Hollywood is the world’s first professional organization dedicated to promoting the Art of Animation and celebrating the people who create it. ASIFA-Hollywood is the largest chapter of the international organization and supports a wide range of animation activities and preservation efforts such as producing The Annie Awards, which were conceptualized in 1972 by veteran voice talent June Foray.

The Annies, as it is affectionatelyknown, has grown in scope and stature over the past four decades as public interest in the industry continues to rise. Here are some of the major categories:

Best Animated Feature

  • A Letter to Momo: GKIDS
  • Despicable Me 2: Illumination Entertainment/Universal Pictures
  • Ernest & Celestine: GKIDS
  • Frozen: Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Monsters University: Pixar Animation Studios
  • The Croods: DreamWorks Animation
  • The Wind Rises: Studio Ghibli/Touchstone Pictures

Best Animated Special Production

  • Chipotle Scarecrow: Moonbot Studios
  • Listening Is an Act of Love: StoryCorps
  • Room on the Broom: Magic Light Pictures
  • Toy Story OF TERROR!: Pixar Animation Studios

Best Animated Short Subject

  • Despicable Me 2: Puppy, Illumination Entertainment/Universal Pictures
  • Get A Horse!: Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Gloria Victoria: National Film Board of Canada
  • My Mom is an Airplane: Acme Filmworks
  • The Numberlys: Moonbot Studios

Best General Audience Animated TV/Broadcast Production For Preschool Children

  • Bubble Guppies: Nickelodeon Productions/Nelvana
  • Disney Sofia the First: Disney Television Animation
  • Doc McStuffins: Brown Bag Films
  • Justin Time: Guru Studio
  • Peter Rabbit: Nickelodeon Productions/Silver Gate Media

Best Animated TV/Broadcast Production For Children’s Audience

  • Adventure Time: Cartoon Network Studios
  • Beware the Batman: Warner Bros. Animation
  • Disney Gravity Falls: Disney Television Animation
  • Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness, Nickelodeon Animation Studio
  • Regular Show: Cartoon Network Studios
  • Scaredy Squirrel: Nelvana Ltd.
  • Teen Titans Go!: Warner Bros. Animation
  • The Legend of Korra: Nickelodeon Animation Studio

Best Animated Video Game

  • Diggs Nightcrawler: Moonbot Studios
  • Tiny Thief: 5 ANTS
  • The Last of Us: Naughty Dog

Outstanding Achievement, Voice Acting in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production

  • Eric Bauza as the voice of Foop – Fairly Odd Parents – Nickelodeon Animation Studio
  • Bill Farmer as the voice of Goofy – Disney Mickey Mouse – Disney Television Animation
  • Chris Diamantopoulos as the voice of Mickey Mouse – Disney Mickey Mouse – Disney Television Animation
  • Mark Hamill as the voice of Skips and Walks – Regular Show – Cartoon Network Studios
  • Tom Kenny as the voice of Ice King – Adventure Time – Cartoon Network Studios

Outstanding Achievement, Voice Acting in an Animated Feature Production

  • Paul Giamatti as the voice of Chet – Turbo – DreamWorks Animation
  • Terry Crews as the voice of Earl – Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs 2 – Sony Pictures Animation
  • Kristen Wiig as the voice of Lucy – Despicable Me 2 – Illumination Entertainment/Universal Pictures
  • Steve Carell as the voice of Gru – Despicable Me 2 – Illumination Entertainment/Universal Pictures
  • Pierre Coffin as the voice of Minions – Despicable Me 2 – Illumination Entertainment/Universal Pictures
  • Billy Crystal as the voice of Mike – Monsters University – Pixar Animation Studios
  • Josh Gad as the voice of Olaf – Frozen – Walt Disney Animation Studios

Juried Awards

  • Winsor McCay Award – Katsuhiro Otomo, Steven Spielberg & Phil Tippett
  • June Foray Award – Alice Davis
  • Ub Iwerks – DZED Systems for Dragonframe stop-motion animation software
  • Special Achievement Award – Creative Talent Network (CTN)
  • Certificate of Merit – “I Know That Voice” (Documentary)

The full list of nominees and categories for the 41st Annie’s is available at:

For ticket info visit:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here