Poetry - Seven Sorrows by Ted Hughes - China Radio International

Profile photo for Rob Jones
Acheivement Badges Top Talent


Poetry reading for China Radio International literature programme

Vocal Characteristics



Voice Age

Middle Aged (35-54)


British (General)


Note: Transcripts are generated using speech recognition software and may contain errors.
The Seven Sorrows by Ted Hughes. The first sorrow of autumn is the slow goodbye of the garden, who stands so long in the evening a brown poppy head, the stalk of the lily and still cannot go. The second sorrow is thie, empty feet of a pheasant who hangs from a hook with his brothers. The woodland of gold is folded in feathers with its head in a bag and the third Sarah. It's a slow goodbye of the son who has gathered the birds and who gathers the minutes of evening the golden and holy ground off the picture. The fourth sorrow is the pond gone black, ruined and sunken. The city of Water, the Beatles Palace, the catacombs of the Dragon fly and the Fifth Sorrow is the slow goodbye off the woodland that quietly breaks up its camp. One day it's gone. It has only left litter, firewood, tent poles, and the sixth sorrow is the fox is sorrow, the joy of the Huntsman, the joy of the hounds, the hooves that pound till earth closes her ear to the fox's prayer. And the seventh Sorrow is the slow goodbye off the face, with its wrinkles that looks through the window as the year packs up like a tatty fairground that came for the Children